Apr 17, 2021, 08:39 pm

News:

New, New TardisBuilders!

Painting a console?

Started by systemsonic14, Nov 18, 2018, 07:36 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

systemsonic14

I have recently been filling up my notebook with plans for a TARDIS Console which I'll be building out of MDF some time soon (as soon as I've got the measurements all figured out). One thing that I have been somewhat unsure of, however, is the paint. I'd like it to have a metallic kind of look, similar to that of the Smith/Capaldi console, but I'm no expert in this field so I thought I'd ask: what do you all reccomend paint-wise for the console?

Cardinal Hordriss

For my console I went shopping at Halfords for car paint. I went with a gunmetal sort of colour and matt lacquer to take the glossy shine off. I can't remember the precise name of the colour but there was a range of similar shades.
I speak to you from the final days of Gallifrey. I am the past you have forgotten. You are the future I will not live to see...

russellsuthern

Nov 19, 2018, 08:45 am #2 Last Edit: Nov 19, 2018, 08:46 am by russellsuthern
I agree.
The best finish will come from using metallic car spray paint.
These can be expensive, so I tend to use spray paints from the pound shop. (You can often get silver or grey, but one can doesn't last too long!)

A couple of other things to consider:

You need to make sure your surface is sanded as smooth as possible as every lump or scratch will show through.
A good undercoat will enhance the overall effect.
Spray paint can scratch or rub off pretty easily, so if you are going to be playing with your console a lot, or taking it to shows, you might consider varnishing or laquering it to protect the paint

Good luck,

Russell.

timewomble

Something I've seen done to good effect is to layer a brighter metal layer under a darker metal layer, and then scratch and scuff the top layer to reveal the lower layer.