New, New TardisBuilders!

Anyone know this box?

Started by watcher, Aug 30, 2009, 09:13 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

watcher

Aug 30, 2009, 09:13 pm Last Edit: Feb 03, 2010, 09:32 pm by Scarfwearer
Just seen this:
http://blogtorwho.blogspot.com/2009/08/up-close-exhibition-another-visit.html

And was wondering if anyone recognizes this TARDIS?! It kind of looks like a TPE "TV" variant, but im not an expert!

DoctorWho8

Aug 31, 2009, 01:14 am #1 Last Edit: Jan 24, 2010, 05:14 pm by doctoriz
You are close, it's a modded TPE Movie TARDIS.
Bill Rudloff

purpleblancmange

Aug 31, 2009, 08:39 am #2 Last Edit: Jan 24, 2010, 05:15 pm by doctoriz
Quote from: doctorwho8 on Aug 31, 2009, 01:14 amYou are close, it's a modded TPE Movie TARDIS.
Bill Rudloff

You're right there, this is the Cardiff exhibition prop that I "restored" last year for their reopening after the big refurb. 

Originally I was to have a week working on it, the plan was to build it a new base, four new posts, phone panel, the sign boxes and the lamp because the originals were totally knackered.  However, when I went to pick it up, I was told that it would be needed "the day after tomorrow" - which was not good news as technically it only gave me an afternoon and one full day to do the work... which wasn't enough time to do what I'd planned.

I ended up having to just patch up the holes, make a new base, strengthen the wafer thin cast panels and repaint it - I didn't even get the chance to add the new door furniture, though I did take some of the erroneous parts off.  As such, I didn't have time nor the inclination to photograph the process as I'd originally intended.

Here are the only pictures I took after spending several hours cutting through the rusted bolts (as a result of it being left out in the salty air on Brighton Pier a year or two earlier) and judiciously breaking the panel joins where it's been bodged together.

CardiffBayProp_restoration1.jpg

CardiffBayProp_restoration2.jpg