Apr 20, 2024, 02:47 pm

News:

New, New TardisBuilders!

dustyfro's TARDIS

Started by dustyfro, Apr 27, 2009, 05:28 am

Previous topic - Next topic

dustyfro

Apr 27, 2009, 05:28 am Last Edit: Feb 23, 2010, 02:53 pm by Scarfwearer
Hello everyone.  I'm Hannah and this is my first time building ANYTHING, much less a TARDIS.  I was lucky to have a building buddy visiting for a week to solidify the plans, buy lumber, and get things started (he did the dowel joints on everything for which I would have had no patience.  Now I'm flying solo.  Here's what we got completed in that time.

The beginning of the right hand door:
tardisdoor1.jpg
We joined and glued the frame, clamped it to dry, then attached the plywood to the back.

Door back
tardisdoorback.jpg
glued the plywood to the back and secured it with short screws

side frame
sideframe.jpg
My friend dowel jointed all the corners before we started attaching.  He's got those pictures on his camera, so I'll try to post them later.  We glued the center slats together first and clamped them, then joined the rest of the mirror image frames and clamped them with the long clamps.  The big block was required to hold down the bottom, which was bowing out with the force of the clamp because it's not quite squared on the edges.

The slats are made of 1x3s and 1x4s and the plywood is luann.  We also got the left hand door framed, but with only two panels worth of plywood to make room for the phone door.  I neglected to square the crosspiece for that before gluing, so now it's slightly off.  I'm sure that will come back to bite me when I go to make that door.
x Hannah

soldierblue

Sep 23, 2009, 01:24 am #1 Last Edit: Jan 15, 2010, 11:35 pm by scarfwearer
Excellent job. well done

dustyfro

Feb 23, 2010, 12:13 am #2 Last Edit: Mar 03, 2010, 10:34 pm by Scarfwearer