Apr 27, 2024, 12:11 pm

News:

New, New TardisBuilders!

NST - 2013 Style

Started by stocklen, Mar 08, 2013, 09:40 am

Previous topic - Next topic

stocklen

OK so here we go - but a bit of background first.

I am a novice woodworker.  I have never tried to build anything quite like this before, or on this scale.

As most of you will i'm sure relate to, I have always wanted to have my own TARDIS in the garden.  Ever since I was a child it has been something that I always imagined would be very cool to have but it always seemed unobtainable.

Fast forward to adulthood and the concept of disposable income (just!).  Having my own garden of course its always been at the back of my mind where I could have a TARDIS.  I have the perfect spot all lined up.

I noticed that a certain company is licensed to build a replica TARDIS and I considered saving up to treat myself.  I kept my eye on their website and started to save - although it seemed that every time I went back to the site their prices had gone up (thats the way of the world).  Anyway to cut a long story short, when the 'time was right' for me their Matt Smith version including delivery was way beyond my financial grasp!

It was then that I decided to think about building one for myself... how hard can it be?  :-\

At this point I must take a moment to give special mention and thanks to this forum, and specifically PMC.   I cannot stress enough how his particular thread was nothing short of inspirational.  His clear and concise step by step pictures of the construction were so very helpful to de-mystify the whole process and it really did give me the confidence to have a go myself.  In addition, PMC was extremely helpful to me, and he took the time and trouble to answer a few questions for me, and it is solely down to him that I had the confidence to try.  I wholeheartedly urge anyone considering a build to check out his diary (its titled NST2010).

stocklen

OK, so a bit about this build diary.