Apr 19, 2024, 07:18 am

News:

New, New TardisBuilders!

Father Son 1/2 size build

Started by wizzer2801, Jul 29, 2011, 01:10 am

Previous topic - Next topic

wizzer2801

Jul 29, 2011, 01:10 am Last Edit: Jul 29, 2011, 02:51 am by wizzer2801
Hey all!  First time poster but long time lurker.  

So, to put this out there early on, I am fairly new to Doctor Who.  I have had a few friends try and get me into it for many many years and only recently finally broke down and started watching.  The wife and I have now made it through all of the new Doctors and I am slowly working my way through the classics.

One of the thing that struck me was the Tardis.  I looks at it early on and thought.....I bet I could build one of those.  See, I love woodworking.  Especially odd ball stuff.  I designed and build a box for my cat to have his food and water in that we could see into, but the dog couldn't get to it.  So I thought, "why not build a Tardis!"  Shortly afterwards my Son mention that we should do it as a team project.  Since he is prepping to join the military, I figured this was a good bond type of thing for us to do.

So, here we are.  For the last two months I have been browsing the forum here, looking at everyone's builds and gaining inspiration.  I know that I would have a few days off from work (just switched jobs) and it would be perfect timing for this build.  I eventually want to build a Full scale box but wanted to start small and get ideas.  This will help me build the larger one when it comes time.

So we started yesterday and I made a point to try and take pictures along the way.
DSC_0002.jpg

Since this is a 1/2 scale (ish) we started with a simple base frame:
DSC_0004.jpg
DSC_0006.jpg

We opted to have the walls be plywood (1/4 inch thick) and cut out the squares.
DSC_0007.jpg
DSC_0008.jpg

Sonic Screwdriver says Math is Hard!
DSC_0009.jpg

Cutting out the squares:
DSC_0011.jpg
DSC_0010.jpg

Our Corner pieces are 4x1 inch paired with a 3x1 inch, 4 feet long: