May 19, 2024, 12:41 am

News:

New, New TardisBuilders!

I had a request

Started by Colonel_Klink, Jan 22, 2024, 09:12 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Colonel_Klink

Jan 22, 2024, 09:12 am Last Edit: Jan 22, 2024, 09:16 am by Colonel_Klink
Before Christmas I was happily building a letterbox, long overdue since the last one I built has deteriorated, when I was asked to build a TARDIS for my daughter's birthday. I hate unfinished projects, and yes I have a lot of them... Anywho the brief was for a TARDIS to be built before 28th of January.. this year!
So this is my build diary...

TARDIS Mk 1 - a 1/3 scale version to be used as a bedside cabinet.

I am a 3D modeler who also dabbles in woodwork, so after finding some plans of the fore mentioned TARDIS (here on this forum) I first made a 3D model of it in Blender, converting the  measurements from the plan as I went.

line_2.jpg

line.jpg

Solid.jpg

render_1.jpg

Next... A small building/object can be as complicated as it's larger brother

Colonel_Klink

2. Construction begins.

My version of the TARDIS is constructed from 6mm plywood salvaged from a large packing case, and several sticks of 2" x 3" framing timeber I had in my timber stack. My workshop is generally messy and has been used for storage the past 7 years due to my recovery from cancer and a heart stent... and that I have been a lazy sod as well. Still the intention is to get better organised when I don't have these pressing projects (letterbox and TARDIS).

The following pictures are the progress so far. The project was started 6 days ago and I only spend a few hours each day working amongst the dust and the noise.

1.jpg
I cut the corner posts to size first (this was a mistake as I found out later)

2.jpg
A makeshift jig for cutting the chamfers on the base pieces. A number of jigs were made including a mitre jig for cutting the corners of the base on a crosscut sled.

3.jpg